Now Reading
First Look Clip at the Sundance Title ‘Descendant’ Produced by Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson

First Look Clip at the Sundance Title ‘Descendant’ Produced by Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson

Clotilda, the last ship carrying enslaved Africans to the United States, arrived in Alabama 40 years after African slave trading became a capital offense. It was promptly burned, and its existence denied. After a century shrouded in secrecy and speculation, descendants of the Clotilda’s survivors are reclaiming their story.


Directed By: Margaret Brown (The Order of Myths, The Great Invisible)Produced By: Essie Chambers, Kyle Martin (Cryptozoo, Tiny Furniture)Executive Produced By: Jeff Skoll, Diane Weyermann, Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson, Tariq “Black Thought” Trotter, Shawn Gee, Zarah Zolman, Kate Hurwitz

Descendant made its premiere at the 2022 Sundance film festival.

Viewers can catch an On-Demand screening: Monday, January 24 10:00AM EST / 8:00AM MST / 7:00 AM PST

ALSO READ
'Sneakerella' Gives a New Take on the Cinderella Fairytale
What's Your Reaction?
Angry
0
Excited
1
Funny
0
Happy
0
In Love
0
Not Sure
0
Silly
0
Scroll To Top