Now Reading
TRIGGER WARNING: ‘Surviving R. Kelly’ Live-Tweet with BGN Tomorrow Night

TRIGGER WARNING: ‘Surviving R. Kelly’ Live-Tweet with BGN Tomorrow Night

The Surviving R. Kelly special has been the talk of the new year and promises to continue dominating newsfeeds through the weekend. The Lifetime Network show premieres Thursday, January 3 and runs three nights, through Saturday, January 5. In clips like the one above, we see that the show will be about the victims. Here’s a description released by Lifetime:

In the ground-breaking documentary series, women are emerging from the shadows and uniting their voices to share their stories. For the first time ever, survivors and people from R. Kelly’s inner circle, are coming forward with new allegations about his sexual, mental, and physical abuse. They are now finally ready to share their full story and shed light on the secret life the public has never seen.

With over 50 interviews including civil rights activist Tarana Burke, musicians John Legend and Sparkle, talk-show host and former DJ Wendy Williams, ex-wife Andrea Kelly, ex-girlfriend Kitti Jones, brothers Carey and Bruce Kelly, and many others, the true story of R. Kelly’s controversial past will be revealed beginning in 1970 through present day, shedding light on the R&B star whose history of alleged abuse of underage African American girls has, until recently, been largely ignored by mainstream media.

This program falls under Lifetime’s commitment to provide a platform to give women a voice where they have previously been unheard to bring awareness to the abuses and harassment of women.

Don’t miss the event. In fact, sound off with us during the show as we comment live on Twitter under the handle @BlackGirlNerds.

'Flowers in the Attic: The Origin' is the Nuanced Adaptation VC Andrews's Fans Have Waited Decades to Experience

Surviving R. Kelly premieres Thursday, January 3 at 8:00 PM EST.

What's Your Reaction?
In Love
Not Sure
View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll To Top