Insecure

In celebration of the season four premiere of hit comedy Insecure, HBO will host its fourth annual block party for the series virtually.

HBO is hosting the premiere event which will include an Instagram live Q&A hosted by Issa Rae with cast and a surprise musical performance.

Starting on Sunday, April 12 at 8:00PM ET, the four-part VIRTUAL BLOCK PARTY lineup will feature a Q&A with Insecure creator and star Issa Rae and the cast on her Instagram Live, an Instagram Live DJ set with Zaytoven, and a live Twitter watch party hosted by Rae. Following the season premiere episode at 10:00PM ET, there will be a surprise musical performance on Instagram Live from an artist featured in the upcoming season and on the Insecure soundtrack, to be released this summer by Raedio (Rae’s new label) and Atlantic Records.

DATE:            Sunday, April 12, 2020
 
TIME:             8:00 PM ET / 5:00 PM PT
Live Instagram Q&A with Issa and Crew
Watch via @IssaRae
 
9:00 PM ET / 6:00 PM PT
Live Instagram DJ Set with Zaytoven
Watch via @InsecureHBO
 
10:00 PM ET / 7:00 PM PT
Twitter Watch Party with Issa, Cast, and Essence
Tweet with @InsecureHBO@IssaRae and @Essence
 
10:45 PM ET / 7:45 PM PT
Live Instagram Performance with Surprise Musical Guest
Watch via @InsecureHBO
 
Music and community have always been central to the series. The annual block parties started as an intimate daylong gathering in Brooklyn, NY for season one, expanded to Inglewood, CA for season two, and culminated with over 2,500 fans attending Insecure Fest at Banc of California Stadium last season. This year’s VIRTUAL BLOCK PARTY moves the event online, with the potential to engage even more passionate Insecure fans.
 
Insecure block parties have been a core piece of our marketing campaign and they’ve grown exponentially with each season,” said Jackie Gagne, Vice President, Multicultural Marketing at HBO. “Given the current circumstances, we still wanted to bring together a collective virtual community to celebrate the return of a beloved show on HBO with the hope that we could provide an escape from reality to enjoy great music and good laughs.”
 
Season four of Insecure follows the main characters in the aftermath of the decisions they made in the last season. Issa Dee (Rae) pursues a passion project she actually cares about, Molly (Yvonne Orji) navigates a real relationship for the first time, Lawrence (Jay Ellis) figures out what leveling-up means for him, and we see the effect of Tiffany’s (Amanda Seales) new baby on the dynamic of the friend group. Along the way, we’ll see these characters evaluating relationships, both new and old, in an effort to figure out who and what comes with them in this next phase of their lives.
 
Insecure stars Issa Rae. Other series regulars include Yvonne Orji, Jay Ellis, Natasha Rothwell, Amanda Seales, Kendrick Sampson, and Alexander Hodge.
 
Created by Issa Rae & Larry Wilmore; executive produced by Issa Rae, Prentice Penny, Melina Matsoukas, Michael Rotenberg, Dave Becky, Jonathan Berry, Amy Aniobi and Jim Kleverweis; co-executive producers, Laura Kittrell and Phil Augusta Jackson.
 
Insecure season four premieres exclusively on HBO on Sunday, April 12th at 10:00 PM ET/PT and will be available on HBO NOW, HBO GO, HBO On Demand and partners’ streaming platforms.

ALSO READ
'Insecure' Season 4, Episode 4: "Lowkey Losin' It" — RECAP