Book Reviews

Book Review: Will Smith’s Audiobook Memoir ‘Will’

The entire world knows Will Smith. No, I mean really, it’s like we know him.…

Book Review: ‘Passing’ by Nella Larsen

Imagine this: You’re living your adult life in the 1920s, at the onset of the…

Review: A Black Woman Immortal Finds Answers — Not Without Struggle — in Natashia Deón’s ‘The Perishing’

In the tradition of Octavia E. Butler and N.K. Jemisin, defense lawyer and educator Natashia…

Book Review: ‘Bad Motherf*cker’ by Gavin Edwards

From the pop culture soaked mind of author Gavid Edwards comes a new Samuel L…

Review: Reagan Jackson’s ‘Still Here: A South End Mixtape from an Unexpected Journalist’

Reagan Jackson begins her collection of essays and articles Still Here: A South End Mixtape…

‘Tourian’: A Simple Read That Challenges Cliches in Heroism Using Social Justice

Jaurice Smiley’s Tourian mixes superhero fiction and the current racial climate in the United States…

Candace Buford’s Debut Novel ‘Kneel’ Delivers a Powerful Message on Racism

Russell (Rus) Boudreaux is the star player and team captain for the Jackson Jaguars football…

Biko and the Thief: A Space Odyssey for Us

Written By: Brittany M. Pride  Biko and the Thief is the space odyssey that we…

Book Review: ‘Black Girls Must Die Exhausted’

Since its original self-published release in 2018, Black Girls Must Die Exhausted has been on…

Author Kalynn Bayron Brings an Air of Mystery in ‘This Poison Heart’

Written By: Pella the Pilgrim  In Kalynn Bayron’s sophomore book This Poison Heart, we follow…