Book Reviews

‘Marvel’s Black Panther: The Official Wakanda Cookbook’ Is Scrumptious

Wakanda was a glorious place to envision. When I’m feeling the weight of the world,…

‘Girl Dad’ by “The Dad Gang’s” Sean Williams

There has always been this ongoing narrative that missing fathers are at the center of…

Book Review: ‘Cherish Farrah: A Novel’ by Bethany C. Morrow

Bestselling author Bethany C. Morrow gives us a new adult social horror novel that I…

Book Review: ‘Recitatif: A Story’ by Toni Morrison

If you want to talk about “classic moments,” one of my favorites is a 1998…

Review: Robert Child’s ‘Immortal Valor’ Sheds Light on the Stories of Black Soldiers

“Shame on the nation that has no military heroes, but much more shame on the…

Book Review: Deeper Than Decluttering — Christine Platt’s ‘Afrominimalist’s Guide’

Not only is Christine Platt a social media influencer with 74.1K Instagram followers, but this…

Book Review: Will Smith’s Audiobook Memoir ‘Will’

The entire world knows Will Smith. No, I mean really, it’s like we know him.…

Book Review: ‘Passing’ by Nella Larsen

Imagine this: You’re living your adult life in the 1920s, at the onset of the…

Review: A Black Woman Immortal Finds Answers — Not Without Struggle — in Natashia Deón’s ‘The Perishing’

In the tradition of Octavia E. Butler and N.K. Jemisin, defense lawyer and educator Natashia…

Book Review: ‘Bad Motherf*cker’ by Gavin Edwards

From the pop culture soaked mind of author Gavid Edwards comes a new Samuel L…